Privacy Law: A Snapshot

Back to the program

Title: Privacy Law: A Snapshot

Speaker: Michael Birnhack, Tel Aviv University, Israel

For the Talk slides Please click here

Date: September 07, Monday

Time: 11:20 – 12:20 (Israel, UTC+03:00)
09:20 – 10:20 (UK, UTC+01:00)
04:20 – 05:20 (EDT UTC-04:00)
18:20 – 19:20 (AEST UTC+10:00)

Abstract: 
Privacy law operates in several social contexts: between individuals, between consumers and corporations (this is “data protection”), and between citizens and the state. This talk will offer an overview of privacy law, its structure, and underlying justifications. We will also discuss Israeli privacy law and current legal developments, such as the global effect of the EU’s GDPR, the emergence of the new profession of Data Protection Officers (DPO), and the importance of Privacy by Design. An example for the latter are Contact Tracing Technologies, in the context of Covid-19.

Bio: 
Michael Birnhack is full professor and Associate Dean (Research) at the Faculty of Law, Tel Aviv University. He studies and writes about privacy, especially in technological settings. Michael served (three terms) as a member of the Public Council for the Protection of Privacy; he advised the European Commission on Israel’s data protection regime, and was a member of several committees on privacy. In 2020 he co-founded “Privacy Israel”, a first of its kind NGO in Israel, and serves as the chair of its board.