Using the Secret Service to Fight Covid-19: The Israeli Case

Back to the program

Title: Using the Secret Service to Fight Covid-19: The Israeli Case

Speaker: Karine Nahon, IDC, Israel

Date: September 08, Tuesday

Time: 15:15 – 16:15 (Israel time, UTC+03:00)
13:15 – 14:15 (UK, UTC+01:00)
08:15 – 09:15 (EDT UTC-04:00)
22:15 – 23:15 (AEST UTC+10:00)

Abstract: In this talk I will discuss the power dynamics among different stakeholders regarding to what technologies and measures should Israel take to fight Covid-19. The pandemic occurred in a constitutionally sensitive time in Israel: after three electoral systems, and after a year and a half with no permanent parliament. Specifically, it will discuss the public debate, the role of the civic society and parliamentary process around the use of Israeli Secret Service for Covid-19 positive tracing.

Bio: Professor Karine Nahon is an Associate Professor of Information Science in the Lauder School of Government and Ofer School of Communications at the Interdisciplinary Center at Herzliya (IDC) in Israel, the elected president of the Israel Internet Association (ISOC-IL), chairwoman of the national sub-committee of Ethics, Regulation and Artificial Intelligence, and an Affiliated Associate Professor in the Information School at University of Washington. She is the author of the awards-winning book Going Viral 2013, and was named on TheMarker’s list of 100 most influential people in Israel and on Forbes’ list of 50 Most Influential Women in Israel.

Prof. Nahon is a prominent voice in the area of politics of information and the way technology shapes and being shaped by democracy and society. Previously, she held a tenured position as a faculty at the Information School at University of Washington, directed the Virality of Information (retroV) research group, and directed the Center for Information & Society at University of Washington.

She works closely with civil society, along aside with government agencies to develop national policies regarding the information society, transparency and currently disinformation and elections. She plays an active role in civil society.  She co-founded two NGOs: Privacy Israel and the digital rights movement. She serves as a board member of Wikimedia, and previously was a board member of the Freedom of Information Movement and of the Open Knowledge Workshop. Her public roles includes, among other things, representing Israel in the UN in the committee for science and technology, acting as a member of the Chief Information Office (CIO) Cabinet, serving as a member of the Beinisch committee which examined the election law (propaganda means), member of the supreme archives council.