Introduction to network anonymity and mixnets

Back to the program

Title:  Introduction to network anonymity and mixnets

Speaker: Claudia Diaz, KU Leuven, Belgium

For the Talk slides Please click here

Date:  September 10, Thursday

Time: 12:40– 14:40 (Israel, UTC+03:00)
10:40 – 12:40 (UK, UTC+01:00)
05:40 – 07:40 (EDT UTC-04:00)
19:40 – 21:40 (AEST UTC+10:00)

Abstract: This talk will motivate the need for anonymity at the network layer and introduce basic anonymity concepts and metrics that are applicable to communication settings. We will review the relevant adversary models and introduce mixnets, a type of anonymous communication system that protects communications against powerful network adversaries that perform traffic analysis. We will explain the different features that need to be considered when designing mixnet routing protocols and provide an overview of existing designs.

Bio: Claudia Diaz is an Associate Professor at the COSIC research group of the Department of Electrical Engineering (ESAT) at the KU Leuven, where she leads the Privacy Technologies Team. She holds a Master’s degree in Telecommunications Engineering at the University of Vigo (Spain, 2000), and a Ph.D. in Engineering at the KU Leuven (Belgium, 2005). Her research is focused on the design, analysis, and applications of technologies to protect online privacy, and in particular technologies that offer protection for metadata to prevent traffic analysis, tracking, localisation, or behavioral profiling. Detailed information is available here: https://homes.esat.kuleuven.be/~cdiaz/