The Economics of Privacy

Back to the program

 

Title: The Economics of Privacy

Speaker: Alessandro Acquisti , Carnegie Mellon University, USA

For the Talk slides Please click here

Date:  September 10, Thursday

Time: 14:50– 16:20 (Israel, UTC+03:00)
12:50 – 14:20 (UK, UTC+01:00)
07:50 – 09:20 (EDT UTC-04:00)
21:50 – 23:20 (AEST UTC+10:00)

Abstract: 

Bio: Alessandro Acquisti is a Professor of Information Technology and Public Policy at the Heinz College, Carnegie Mellon University, the PwC William W. Cooper Professor of Risk and Regulatory Innovation, and a Carnegie Fellow (inaugural class). He is the director of the Peex (Privacy Economics Experiments) lab at CMU, and the co-director of Carnegie Mellon’s CBDR (Center for Behavioral and Decision Research). Alessandro investigates the economics of privacy. His studies have spearheaded the investigation of privacy and disclosure behavior in online social networks, and the application of behavioral economics to the study of privacy and information security decision making. His studies have won numerous awards and have been published in journals, books, and proceedings across different fields, including Science, Proceedings of the National Academy of Science, Management Science, Journal of Economic Literature, Marketing Science, Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, and Journal of Experimental Psychology. Alessandro has testified before the U.S. Senate and House committees on issues related to privacy policy and consumer behavior. His findings have been featured in national and international media outlets, including the Economist, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Financial Times, Wired.com, NPR, CNN, and 60 Minutes; his TED talks on privacy and human behavior have been viewed over 1.2 million times online. Alessandro holds a PhD from UC Berkeley, and Master degrees from UC Berkeley, the London School of Economics, and Trinity College Dublin.